Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (63) Denton Little's Deathdate

Wednesday, July 30, 2014 12:11 AM with 9 comments
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating. Click the link to see the original post plus a whole slew of links to other blogs. After you read this one, of course.


18883231 Denton Little's Deathdate
 
Author: Lance Rubin
Publisher: Knopf
Release Date: April 14, 2015

Link to Goodreads:

Fans of John Green and Matthew Quick: Get ready to die laughing.

Denton Little's Deathdate takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day they will die. For 17-year-old Denton Little, that's tomorrow, the day of his senior prom.

Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle (as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend's hostile sister. Though he's not totally sure. See: first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is this what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton's long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters…. Suddenly Denton's life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers.

Debut author Lance Rubin takes us on a fast, furious, and outrageously funny ride through the last hours of a teenager's life as he searches for love, meaning, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on.



   
Why I'm Excited:

I don't know why really, but I always really enjoy stories where people know or can see when people are going to die. I know that's kind of weird. This sounds funny and original and interesting. Definitely looking out of this one. 

What are you waiting for on this Wednesday? Link me up! 

Hey lovely GFC and new followers, please follow me by Bloglovin as we all know Google Reader has gone/is going by the wayside. (I like to follow back, so please let me know if you're a new follower--and leave a link!) Thank you!!!

9 comments:

  1. Whoa. That cover! I hope you'll enjoy, Nat.

    Also…Hi!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is the first I've heard of this! I didn't know what to expect based on the title (an Adult novel about children?), but from the synopsis I'm kind of sort of really liking the sound of this. It sounds funny and satirical, and a light take on a very morbid subject--knowing when you'll die.

    Rachel @ Beauty and the Bookshelf

    ReplyDelete
  3. Don't feel wierd, I love that kind of thing too---morbid as it sounds. But this one, you can tell from just the title and cover that it takes a humorous spin. Really looking forward to it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oo, it's going to be published on my birthday! I love the cover and this definitely sounds very original.
    Thanks for sharing this one :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is new to me and sounds promising…such an interesting premise, even if it is a bit morbid. I like that it says for fans of Matthew Quick---loved Silver Linings Playbook. Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
  6. OH MY GOSH. THAT BLURB, HAHA. You seriously have the best pick! I need this in my life. And that cover!! Great pick, thanks for highlighting this, Natalie!

    Here's my WOW (:

    ReplyDelete
  7. I hadn't heard of this one before, but it sounds fascinating! Nice WOW choice :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds so good!!! I'm adding it to my TBR list right now. What a weird world. Although I'm a little confused about the blurb saying that some guy shows up at his funeral and tells him something. How does that work?? Guess I'll have to wait and see! Great pick! ~Pam

    ReplyDelete
  9. That synopsis is confusing...and I'm okay with that. I like stories like this, too, where there's a finite date where everything ends and the whole book is leading up to that. The cover doesn't hurt, but neither does the humorousness of the story. Just added it to my TBR, as well. Thanks for putting this on my radar...you always find unique books to spotlight!

    ReplyDelete

Hello, there! Thanks for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one and will do my best to respond--usually on your blog instead of on mine. I will, however, always answer direct questions. Due to serious time restraints, this blog is now an award free zone, but I appreciate the thought!