Friday, February 13, 2015

Weekly Rewind 2.14.15

Friday, February 13, 2015 8:03 PM with 6 comments



Weekly Rewind
The new books on my shelves and my week in a nutshell.




Since I started this blog I've participated in Stacking the Shelves, which is a weekly feature hosted by Tynga's Reviews, and I'm going to continue linking to that meme. Throughout my student teaching semester I was using my weekend post as a way to let people know what's going on in my life, so I've decided to rename my weekend post because this feature is more personal than just what books I've received. The Weekly Rewind will be about what's going on with me and my blog, as well as about the books I've added to my shelves.

My Life and Blog

Life: I'm home for a long weekend! I'm going to skip the long update today. My husband is making me dinner--crab and artichoke dip and some salmon (nom, nom), so I figured I would type this up quickly. As always, it is awesome to be home with my love and my cats. 

Blog: I did finally post a review for Little Big Lies earlier this week. I enjoyed it quite a bit.

New Books: I've been checking and checking to see when the PB of The 5th Wave was coming out and never could find a date, and then out of nowhere--bam--there it was on Tuesday. Of course I snagged a copy. I was going to bring it on the plane, but it wouldn't fit in my purse, and my carry-on was already overflowing, but it is definitely high on my TBR list now that I own it. As far as review books are concerned, I have a handful to show you this week, so without further adieu I hope you are all having awesome (hopefully long) weekends! And Happy Valentine's Day if you celebrate it (we don't, but to each her own). 

 For Review


22535481 22536448 18135437 18009950 
 21393504 22456920 22403036 22318393

A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas
Early reviews of this after the kiss look at Sleeping Beauty have been fairly mediocre, but I do love that cover and hope I enjoy it more than others. 
The Sin Eater's Daughter by Melissa Salisbury
An executioner who can kill just with her touch + that cover. So excited.
The Third Twin by CJ Omololu
I love a good YA Thriller, and this book about twins whose DNA matches the scene of a crime looks really fun. 
Liars, Inc by Paula Stokes
It's hard to ignore this blurb: For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV's How to Get Away with Murder.
Kalahari by Jessica Khoury
An educational safari goes wrong and a group of teens find themselves stranded in the desert without a guide...and with a deadly virus outbreak. Everything about that sounds like my worst nightmare. 
Remember by Eileen Cook
Per GR: A thrilling tale about what a girl will do to get back a memory she lost…or remove what she wants to forget.
No Parking at the End Times by Bryan Bliss 
A family that is falling apart gets in a van and travels to San Fransisco to be with a "prophet" calling for Armageddon.  
My Near-Death Adventures by Alison DeCamp
While this historical MG book is far from my usual read, it looks really fun.

What I Bought

 

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
Finally out in PB!

What I snagged from the library

15749186 15808650 16075935

Books:
I've already read and reviewed this, but couldn't help but snag it for a re-read after the sequel's came out last week. 
The Tao of Martha by Jen Lancaster
I love Jen Lancaster's memoirs. I'm excited to read this one. 
Audio book:
This was terrible. Terrible. I'm pissed at myself for finishing it. 
Movie:
Fury
I can't wait to watch this. I brought it home to watch with my honey. 

Well that's it for me this week. Feel free to leave a link to whatever weekend post you do (Stacking the Shelves, In My Mailbox, etc). I love to see what books people have recently snagged and especially enjoy hearing about my fellow bloggers' weeks. I hope you are all having a fabulous weekend!





6 comments:

  1. It's so great when you get reunited with your loved ones! I hope you'll make the best of this weekend, Natalie! Oh and that dinner sounds lovely. :)

    Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Enjoy your weekend at home! I also got No Parking at End Times…very curious about that one. I read A Wicked Thing last week and surprisingly, I liked it and I usually don't enjoy retellings. Enjoy all your books!

    ReplyDelete
  3. So glad you're home for the weekend, hope you have a great time!

    Sin Eater's Daughter…can't wait to read it! The Third Twin sounds really good, hope it is. And I enjoyed Remember…I'm a sucker for memory issue books.

    Have fun reading! ~Pam

    ReplyDelete
  4. I didn't LOVE The Sin Eater's Daughter but I enjoyed it! It's got a lot of promise! And I'm curious about No Parking at the End Times and A Wicked Thing! I hope you enjoy all these books and your long weekend <3

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

    ReplyDelete
  5. Enjoy your weekend home! I hope you have a wonderful time with your family. You're so close to having your first year under your belt!

    Sin Eater's Daughter - OH YES! I can't wait to read that one!

    ReplyDelete

Hello, there! Thanks for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one and will do my best to respond--usually on your blog instead of on mine. I will, however, always answer direct questions. Due to serious time restraints, this blog is now an award free zone, but I appreciate the thought!