Friday, May 26, 2017

Weekly Rewind 5.27.17

Friday, May 26, 2017 10:55 PM with 10 comments
Image result for natflixandbooks
Weekly Rewind
The new books on my shelves and my week in a nutshell.


Throughout my student teaching semester I was using my weekend post as a way to let people know what's going on in my life, so I've decided to rename my weekend post because this feature is more personal than just what books I've received. The Weekly Rewind will be about what's going on with me and my blog, as well as about the books I've added to my shelves. This post is linked to Stacking the Shelves over at Tynga's Reviews and the Sunday Post over at Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


My Life and Blog

Life: Home for the long weekend, and only 2 more weeks of school! I usually type this post up on Thursday night when I'm making the 4 hour trek, but didn't yesterday. So I'm pretty beat. Life is trucking along. I've been busy sending out resumes to hopefully snag a job in PA for next fall, and have been putting together my lesson plans for these last two weeks. I'm doing a brand new unit, which has been a ton of work, but it is mostly front-loaded. Once I get it all figured out, I'll be able to let my students go--which will give me time for all those last minute things I'll need to do. 

Blog and reading:WoW this week. Check out that cover! I'm slumping big time these last couple of weeks--which is just a combination of stress, getting over a nasty cold, and being so close to summer. I've started a billion books, but nothing is sticking. It is what it is. I'm sure I'll make my way out of it once school is out. 

New books: I do have some pretty titles to share with you this week. So without further ado, I hope you're all having fabulous weekend! 

For Review

31952703 25752041 31450942 32470611
32620332 32148219 32051722 31078124

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crawley
Many trusted blog friends are raving about this romance, so I'm excited to dive in.
Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts
So I thought the "bastard" was a dude (because of the word bastard, I guess, and the male author), so I'm kind of disappointed that it's not...
The Possible by Tara Altebrando
I had to snag this after seeing the cover. I'm intrigued by the mother with kenetic powers.
Follow Me Back by AV Geiger
An obsessive fan and a famous singer fall in love on twitter...but I think this is supposed to be more thriller than romance (certainly based on that cover and title). 
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
This adult novel follows a journalist who is hand-selected by an iconic actress to talk about her scandalous life. It sounds pretty fun. 
Perennials by Mandy Berman
I downloaded this so long ago, that I completely forgot about it. After rereading this synopsis of two friends who meet back up at summer camp as counselors the year after graduating college. I'm definitely excited to give this a try. Billed as for fans of Jennifer Close and Curtis Sittenfeld--two of my favorite authors. 
Liberty: the Spy Who (Kind of) Liked Me by Andrea Portes
A "super-fun, fast-paced spy novel"? Sold. 
The Unlikelies by Carrie Firestone
I feel like comparing a novel to The Breakfast Club AND The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks (one of my all-time favorites) is kind of setting me up for major disappointment...but, we'll see.

Well that's it for me this week. Feel free to leave a link to whatever weekend post you do (Stacking the Shelves, The Sunday Post, etc). I love to see what books people have recently snagged and especially enjoy hearing about my fellow bloggers' weeks. I hope you are all having a fabulous weekend!







10 comments:

  1. Awesome haul of books. I'm reading Royal Bastards and it's pretty good so far. Give it a chance you might like it. I hope you love all of your new goodies.

    Grace @ Books of Love

    ReplyDelete
  2. Looks like a good haul! Hope you get back into reading soon -- I hate slumps so much. For me, it's so weird not to have my nose in a book or three!

    My STS.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm sorry no books are sticking. I just went through a bout of that, and it really stinks.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I also work at a school (I'm a Special Education Aide in a Kindergarten class), and we are looking forward to summer, too. I also got Words in Deep Blue, but I haven't started it yet. I am also in a book funk. I have started two books, and they are not grabbing my attention. This happens after I read a wonderful book. I have a hard time falling in love with a book after that. Have a great week.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Follow Me Back and The Possible are both books which I'd love to read eventually. Good luck on getting a job closer to home. It must be such a drag to work so far away from home.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great haul of books! I also got review copies of Follow Me Back and Words in Deep Blue. I hope you enjoy them both. I'm really curious to see what you think about Royal Bastards because that is one that I've been excited about for months. lol. Hope you have a great weekend! Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I would think Royal Bastards would be about a male also, I'm not sure if I wouldn't want to read it since it's not. Great haul this week, have a wonderful week.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Awesome books! I hope to read Royal Bastards soon. It sounds really fun. I also read Evelyn Hugo - it was soo good. I liked it a lot and I hope you enjoy it! Have a great holiday weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I think everyone is excited about summer and different time schedules. It always makes me feel free. I'm thinking some of those new books and a little me time might just pull you out of that reading slump. Have a lovely holiday weekend:)

    My Sunday Post

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'm about 15% through Royal Bastards right now and I'm loving it! :) Hope you enjoy it!

    Lauren @ Always Me

    ReplyDelete

Hello, there! Thanks for taking the time to comment. I read each and every one and will do my best to respond--usually on your blog instead of on mine. I will, however, always answer direct questions. Due to serious time restraints, this blog is now an award free zone, but I appreciate the thought!